UEFA confirm 9 Super League clubs have been punished & ‘reintegrated’

Clasico giants & Juventus still at risk of CL ban as UEFA confirm nine Super League clubs have been punished and ‘reintegrated’


European club football’s governing body, UEFA, have this evening released a statement, confirming the approval of ‘reintegration measures’ for nine of the twelve breakaway Super League clubs.

ESL collapses

The subject of the Super League of course proved football’s biggest talking point over the latter weeks of last month.

For those not aware of the situation, on the 18th of April, a dozen of the continent’s top clubs – including six from the Premier League – unveiled plans to break away from the current structures of the game, to form a ‘Super League’.

The initiative was built up as a Champions League alternative of sorts, which would have seen a total of 20 sides from across the continent vie it out for the title each season.

Clasico giants & Juventus still at risk of CL ban as UEFA confirm nine Super League clubs have been punished and ‘reintegrated’

TURIN, ITALY – OCTOBER 28: Andrea Agnelli president of Juventus looks on before the UEFA Champions League Group G stage match between Juventus and FC Barcelona at Juventus Stadium on October 28, 2020 in Turin, Italy. Sporting stadiums around Italy remain under strict restrictions due to the Coronavirus Pandemic as Government social distancing laws prohibit fans inside venues resulting in games being played behind closed doors. (Photo by Daniele Badolato – Juventus FC/Juventus FC via Getty Images)

Almost as soon as the project was officially green lighted, though, it was brought to a grinding halt.

Remarkably, less than 48 hours after the competition’s plans were made public, the six English clubs involved – Chelsea, Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Tottenham and Liverpool – pulled out.

Barca, Real & Juve stand firm

In turn, the weeks since the collapse of the ESL had inevitably seen speculation mount regarding the potential sanctions to be faced by the clubs involved.

UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin appeared to almost revel in the situation, leaving the ‘dirty dozen’ in waiting for weeks on end, as a wave of rumours spread surrounding the severity of the inevitable incoming punishments.

As outlined above, though, on Friday, an official announcement has finally been forthcoming on the part of European football’s governing body.

In a post across their social media platforms, UEFA confirmed that nine clubs – namely the aforementioned six from the Premier League, along with AC Milan, Inter Milan and Atletico Madrid – are set to be ‘reintegrated’ into the appropriate competitions.

Clasico giants & Juventus still at risk of CL ban as UEFA confirm nine Super League clubs have been punished and ‘reintegrated’

Atletico Madrid’s Argentinian coach Diego Simeone looks on before the Copa del Rey (King’s Cup) football match between Cultural and Deportiva Leonesa and Club Atletico de Madrid at the Reino de Leon stadium in Leon, on January 23, 2020. (Photo by CESAR MANSO / AFP) (Photo by CESAR MANSO/AFP via Getty Images)

‘A formal confirmation of the commitments and the manner of the clubs’ reintegration and participation in UEFA Club Competitions has been agreed between and signed by UEFA and those nine clubs. The approved reintegration measures are full and final.’

In terms of sanctions, the most noteworthy come in the form of the following:

  • as a gesture of goodwill, and together with the other clubs, [they] will make a donation totalling an aggregate of €15 million, to be used for the benefit of children, youth and grassroots football in local communities across Europe, including the UK
  • [The nine clubs] will be subject to the withholding of 5% of the revenues they would have received from UEFA club competitions for one season, which will be redistributed

It is also noted that the sides in question have rejoined the ECA, and will face fines of up to €100 million if future attempts to join ‘unauthorised competitions’ are made.

This of course leaves just three Super League founders to be dealt with.

Juventus, Real Madrid and Barcelona, to this point, have refused to officially break ties with the ESL project.

In turn, UEFA have confirmed that the trio of heavyweights have been referred to the body’s disciplinary committee, where potentially serious punishments – up to and not excluding Champions League expulsion – could be on the cards.


Turkey placed on UK’s ‘red list’ – What it means for Chelsea vs Man City Champions League final

FPL implications: Ole Gunnar Solskjaer on rotating Harry Maguire & Man United squad for Triple Gameweek


Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment