Team Russia 2021-2022 – International Figure Skating

At a meeting of the Russian Figure Skating Federation executive committee on May 13, the main composition of senior members of Team Russia 2020-2021 was determined. Neither Alina Zagitova nor Evgenia Medvedeva were named to the team. Zagitova is pursuing a career in television, skating in shows and attending university. Medvedeva is currently scheduled to perform in a new Ilia Averbukh production and will be an athlete ambassador at the 2020 Olympic Summer Games in Tokyo. Following the announcement, Medvedeva, who has not competed since late 2019, posted a note on Instagram:

″I consider my absence from the expanded squad to be fair. I skipped last season due to health problems and it would be unfair to include me on the list for past accomplishments. There are girls who objectively more deserve to be in the lineup right now. I am for the sporting principle. But figure skating is a sport where everything changes very quickly. There are different situations. You can skip a season, another, then come back and achieve results. And there were many such examples in the world of figure skating. Therefore, I reacted normally to the decision of the federation and do not plan to quit training.″

The line-up has a very different look this year with three junior ladies from last season assigned to the main team for the Olympic campaign. Alena Kostornaia is currently on the reserve list. Neither Anastasia Gulyakova or Sofia Samodurova, who were on the reserve list a year ago, are included. Dmitri Aliev, the 2020 European champion, Petr Gumennik and Artur Danielian were all on the main team last season but this year are reserves. Evgeni Semenenko and Mark Kondratiuk are on the team for the first time.

Partial lists for the pairs and ice dance disciplines have been published with no reserve team members named. An interesting omission from the pairs roster is that of Apollinariia Panfilova and Dmitri Rylov, the 2020 World Junior and Youth Olympic champions.

A complete list of Team Russia 2020-2021 members will be published on the federation website in due course. The Russian Sports Ministry will approve the team composition on or before June 1.


Ladies: Anna Shcherbakova, Kamila Valieva, Elizaveta Tuktamysheva, Alexandra Trusova, Daria Usacheva, Maya Khromykh 

Reserve: Alena Kostornaia, Elizaveta Nugumanova


Men: Mikhail Kolyada, Evgeni Semenenko, Mark Kondratiuk, Andrei Mozalev, Alexander Samarin, Makar Ignatov,

Reserve: Dmitri Aliev, Petr Gumennik, Artur Danielian


Pairs: Anastasia Mishina/Alexander Galliamov, Aleksandra Boikova/Dmitrii Kozlovskii, Evgenia Tarasova/Vladimir Morozov

Reserve: TBA


Ice Dance: Victoria Sinitsina/Nikita Katsalapov, Alexandra Stepanova/Ivan Bukin, Tiffani Zagorski/Jonathan Guerreiro

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment