Future stars named in Great Britain Hockey development squads

Great Britain Hockey has selected the intake for its development programme which aims to nurture young talent into fully-fledged internationals.

Although a Home Nations programme, the England under-21 programme is embedded within the two squads and of the 80-odd athletes named, there are 10 Scots across both EDP genders with just one Welsh men’s player included.

Several players have already made the step up to the senior GB squads having featured in the GB EDP, with Ollie Payne and Fiona Crackles the latest to make the transition in 2020.

Some players will be involved in this summer’s EuroHockey Championships campaigns, while the Junior World Cups will be staged at the end of the year.

With the elite squads involved in the Olympics, future hopes could also be sent to the inaugural EuroHockey5s Championships this summer.

Heather Williams, GB Hockey’s Head of Elite Talent Development, said: “It’s been a long time since we played our last competitive international game at the Men’s Sultan of Johor Cup in October 2019 so we look forward to the return of international competition.”

First formed for the 2017/18 season, the GB EDP is funded by UK Sport and designed to provide players who have the potential become Olympic medallists of the future the best possible opportunity to achieve their international hockey ambitions.

2021 GB Elite Development Programme Squads


James Albery – OId Georgians/England
Rohan Bhuhi – Loughborough Students/England
Matthew Blood – Nottingham University/England
Rhys Bradshaw – Exeter University/Wales
Adam Buckle – Nottingham University/England
Henry Croft – Beeston & Nottingham University/England
Jamie Golden – Surbiton/Scotland
Josh Gravestock – Nottingham University/England
Gareth Griffiths – Beeston/England
James Hunt – Beeston & Nottingham University/England
Jonathan Lankfer – Nottingham University/England
Adam Lee Browne – Loughborough Students/England
Max Lowrey – Exeter University/England
Callum Mackenzie – Cardiff & Met/Scotland
James Mazarelo – Loughborough Students/England
Andrew McConnell – Western Wildcats/Scotland
Tim Nurse – Surbiton/England
James Oates – Hampstead & Westminster/England
Jake Owen – Loughborough Students/England
Nick Park – Beeston & Nottingham University/England
Jacob Payton – Exeter University/England
Alex Pendle – Loughborough Students/England
Archie Phillips – Nottingham University/England
Matthew Ramshaw – Loughborough Students/England
Toby Reynolds Cotterill – Hampstead & Westminster/England
Ellis Robson – Cardiff & Met/England
Stuart Rushmere – Loughborough Students/England
Thomas Russell – Brooklands MU & Liverpool John Moores/England
Duncan Scott – Exeter University/England
Peter Scott – Wimbledon/England
Matthew Simmonds – Birmingham University/England
Karan Sofat – Nottingham University/England
Toby Stanley – Loughborough Students/England
Sam Taylor – Ashmoor/England
Jack Turner – Wimbledon/England
James Vallely – Durham University/England
Eddie Way – Wimbledon/England
Connor Webb – Cambridge City/England
Daniel West – Loughborough Students/England
Conor Williamson – Nottingham University/England

Ed Horler – Royal Racing Club Brussels/England
Cameron Golden – Uhlenhorster HC Hamburg/Scotland


Emma Allroggen – Birmingham University & Bablake School/England
Millie Attwell – Birmingham University/England
Maddie Axford – Cambridge City/England
McKenzie Bell – Uddingston/Scotland
Nicole Bowen – Wimbledon/England
Freya Bull – Birmingham University/England
Ella Burnley – Exeter University/England
Iona Campbell – Loughborough University/England
Kitty Chapple – Clifton Robinsons & Millfield School/England
Katie Curtis – Nottingham University/England
Catherine de Ledesma – Loughborough University/England
Emily Dark – Dundee Wanderers & University of St Andrews/Scotland
Jen Eadie – Clydesdale Western/Scotland
Georgie Gardens – Harleston Magpies & Framlingham College/England
Millie Giglio – Birmingham University/England
Emily Guckian – Surbiton/England
Olivia Hamilton – Loughborough University/England
Holly Hunt – Hampstead & Westminster/England
Pippa Lock – Birmingham University/England
Maddie Long – Surbiton/England
Lorna Mackenzie – Loughborough Students/England
Alexandra Malzer – Nottingham University/England
Nicole Marks – Buckingham/England
Mollie Mason – Nottingham University/England
Vicki McCabe – Bath University/England
Miriam Pritchard – Loughborough University/England
Alice Rolfe – Loughborough University/England
Sally Sime – Nottingham University/England
Millie Steiger – Clydesdale Western & University of Glasgow/Scotland
Natalie Stevens – Brooklands MU/England
Claudia Swain – Repton School/England
Martha Taylor – Exeter University/England
Lily Walker – Birmingham University/England
Mila Welch – Nottingham University/England
Evie Wood – Teddington & Surbiton High School/England

Currently overseas:
Lexi Sabatelli – Atletic Terrassa/Scotland
Laura Swanson – Club an der Alster/Scotland
Sophie Hamilton – UCONN/England
Darcy Bourne – Duke University/England

Source link

Related posts

Leave a Comment